Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Faculty Awards Ceremony and Reception

Faculty Awards Ceremony and Reception

The Faculty Awards Ceremony and Reception is an event hosted annually by the Provost’s Office and Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs. Faculty are recognized for UIC Distinguished Professor, University Scholars, Award for Excellence in Teaching (AET), Teaching Recognition Program (TRP) Award, Graduate College Mentoring (GCM) Award, Faculty Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award, Community Engagement Award, Global Engagement Faculty Award, Interprofessional Teaching in Action Matters (I-TEAM) Award, and various External Awards.

Event Details Heading link

Watch the 2023 Recording Here

Message from the Chancellor Heading link

Marie Lynn Miranda

“The accomplishments of our outstanding faculty members and their innovative contributions to teaching, research, and service, bring distinction to the University of Illinois Chicago and form the foundation of our mission: to provide the broadest access to the highest levels of educational, research, and clinical excellence.

The awards presented today honor individuals who have been instrumental in shaping the intellectual and cultural character of our university.

Faculty members are recognized in six categories: the Award for Excellence in Teaching; the Teaching Recognition Program; the Graduate College Mentoring Award; UIC Distinguished Professors; University Scholars; and major awards from external agencies and societies.

We are delighted that the University of Illinois System’s Executive Vice President and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Nick Jones, joins us today in congratulating the scholars and teachers recognized in these pages. We are so pleased and proud to count you as faculty colleagues.

Congratulations to the 2023 honorees!”

Marie Lynn Miranda, PhD  |  Chancellor

Event Program Heading link

Time Programming Featured Speaker
4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Check-In and Welcome Reception
5:00 p.m. Introduction of Speakers Karen Colley, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
5:03 p.m. Chancellor's Welcome Marie Lynn Miranda, Chancellor
5:06 p.m. University of Illinois System Message Nicholas P. Jones, U of I Executive Vice President and VP for Academic Affairs
5:11 p.m. Recognition of External Award Recipients
5:20 p.m. Recognition of Emeriti Faculty
5:28 p.m. Presentation of Internal Awards
6:08 p.m. Congratulations and Closing Remarks Karen Colley, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
6:10 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. Congratulatory Reception

2023 Awardees Heading link