UIC New Faculty Orientation 2017-18

Program Agenda and Participants

Introduction of the Chancellor
Renée Taylor, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

9:40‐10:05 Welcome Remarks from the Chancellor
Introduction of the Provost
Michael D. Amiridis, Chancellor

10:05‐10:25 Welcome Remarks from the Provost
Introduction of the Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
Susan Poser, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

10:25‐10:45 Welcome Remarks from the Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
Robert Barish, Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs

10:45‐11:15 Intentionally Supporting Student’s Social & Emotional Success
Kate Zinsser, Assistant Professor of Psychology

Faculty are invited to continue to visit the exhibitor tables

11:45‐12:45 Lunch with College Mentors

12:45‐1:45 Mentoring Panel and the Promotion and Tenure Process
Stephanie Crawford, Professor, Pharmacy Nancy Freitag, Professor, College of Medicine Mark Grabiner, Professor, Applied Health Sciences Terri Thorkildsen, Professor, Education
William Walden, Professor and Associate Dean, Medicine Donald Wink, Professor, Liberal Arts and Sciences Christine Wu, Professor, Dentistry

1:45‐2:45 Breakout Session
 Group A: Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research (Room C)

Mitra Dutta, Vice Chancellor for Research Mark Grabiner, Research Integrity Officer
Mary Bowman, Director, Animal Care and Institutional Biosafety
Tony Halford, Director, Research Service and Research Development Services Jacquelyn Jancius, Director, Conflict of Interest
Charles Hoehne, Assistant Director, Protection of Research Subjects Karen McCormack, Interim Director, Grants and Contracts
 Group B: Teaching and Student Success at UIC (Main Room A/B)

Teaching Policies and Awards
Renée Taylor, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Jane Marone, Clinical Professor, Applied Health
Undergraduate Student Success
Nikos Varelas, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Affairs
Supporting Students at UIC
Linda Deanna, Dean of Students
Joseph Hermes, Director of UIC Counseling Center

2:45‐3:00 Diversity at UIC
Charu Thakral, Associate Director, Diversity Educational and Research Initiatives

3:00‐3:15 BREAK

3:15‐3:30 Graduate College Overview
Karen Colley, Dean

3:30‐3:45 The Role of Technology in Supporting Student Success
Cynthia Herrera Lindstrom, Chief Information Officer, Executive Director and HIPAA Privacy and Security Officer, Academic Computing and Communications Center

3:45‐4:00 Honors College
Ralph Keen, Dean

4:00 – 4:15 Office for Access and Equity
Caryn Bills‐Windt, Associate Chancellor
Danielle Earls, Title IX and Equity Compliance Specialist

4:15‐4:45 The Role of the Library in Fostering Student Success
Paula Dempsey, Assistant Professor & Research Services/Resources Librarian Abigail Goben, Assistant Professor & Assistant Information Services Librarian – Library of the Health Science

4:45‐5:00 Presentation by UIC‐UF
Janet Smith, Associate Professor, Urban Planning and Public Affairs
5:00 – 6:30 New Faculty Reception – East Terrace
New Faculty, Presenters, Mentors, Administrators (Deans, Heads, Chairs, Major Directors), College Faculty Mentors, Chancellor Status Group Faculty, and Emeriti

The UIC New Faculty Orientation has been made possible by the following:
Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Renée Taylor, Faizan Abid, Lillie Adams, Maria Gueret, Andrew Maybach, Angela Yudt, Natalie Zalewski

Offices of the Chancellor and Provost
Judee Olechno, Asif Ashiqali

Office of the Vice Provost for Academic and Enrollment Services
Maria Garcia, Asya Hill, Gerolyn Hudson

NFO Presenters
All presenters listed above

UIC Administrators
College Deans:
Jerry Bauman, Mary Case, Karen Colley, Lorraine Conroy, Steve Everett, Bo Fernhall,
Creasie Finney Hairston, Ralph Keen, Michael Mikhail, Peter Nelson, Charles Ray, Clark Stanford,
Astrida Orle Tantillo, Alfred Tatum, Terri Weaver

College Mentors
Applied Health Sciences: Deborah Davey, Olympia Kalagidis, Jane Marone, Valerie Prater Architecture, Design and the Arts: Sharon Oiga Business Administration: Shelley Brickson Dentistry: Wendy Cerny, Christine Wu
Education: Marisha Humphries, Michelle Parker‐Katz, Arthi Rao, Marc VanOverbeke, Federico Waitoller Engineering: Betul Bilgin, Joseph Schulenberg, Sol Shatz Daniela Tuninetti
Liberal Arts and Sciences: Tarini Bedi, Martina Bode, Gregory Jursich, Julia Kim‐Cohen, Emanuel Pollack, Marya Schechtman, Nikos Varelas
Library: Sandra DeGroote
Medicine: Memoona Hasnain, Dolly Mehta, Todd Van Neck, William Walden
Nursing: Holli DeVon, Saria Lofton
Pharmacy: Stephanie Crawford, Nicholas Popovich

College Mentors continued…
Public Health: Kee Chan, Arden Handler
Social Work: Christopher Mitchell
Urban Planning and Public Affairs: Michael Siciliano

Academic Computing and Communications Center Campus Recreation
Centers for Cultural Understanding and Social Change Chancellor’s Committee on the Status of LGBTQPA Chancellor’s Committee on the Status of Persons with Disabilities
Civic Engagement Core Group Credit Union 1
Dean of Students – Community Standards Disability Resource Center
Honors College
Office for Access and Equity
Office of Business and Financial Services Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research Parking Services
UI Health
UIC Bookstore UIC Senate
University Library

For questions or more information about the NFO please contact nfo@uic.edu | (312) 413-3470